Saturday, June 09, 2012

On June 9, 1972, a horrific flood roared through the Black Hills, claiming 238 lives and injuring hundreds more.

Today marks the 40th anniversary of the Black Hills Flood on June 9, 1972. The anniversary is being commemorated with events and activities throughout the weekend.

Among the supplies hauled into Rapid City in the days after the 1972 Black Hills flood was an especially graphic reminder of the 238 lives the tragedy claimed: semi-trucks loaded with caskets.

Friday, June 08, 2012
Thursday, June 07, 2012
Wednesday, June 06, 2012

For Black Hills Flood survivor Todd Burgess, it’s not a matter of if Rapid Creek floods again, “it’s that it’s going to happen again,” he said.

In the weeks and months after the 1972 flood, Msgr. William O’Connell and other clergy in the community tried their best to address the emotional needs of survivors.

Tuesday, June 05, 2012
Monday, June 04, 2012
Sunday, June 03, 2012
Friday, June 01, 2012
Thursday, May 24, 2012

The National Eagle Scout Association honored former Rapid City Mayor Donald V. Barnett with its Outstanding Eagle Scout Award Thursday.

Monday, May 07, 2012
Saturday, April 21, 2012
Wednesday, February 08, 2012
Thursday, June 02, 2011