Rapid City students perform in All-State concert

When the 65th annual All-State Chorus and Orchestra took the stage in Sioux Falls on Oct. 28, many Rapid City high school students were among the 160 musicians and 932 singers selected to perform.

All-State Orchestra members from Rapid City were:

Rapid City Central: Alexandria Anderson, Nicholas Benson, Gunner Benson, Maria Bunkers, Alexis Crumb, Elizabeth Crumb, Dillon Dahlke, Alec Doyle, Brandon Gabert, Keithen Griffen, Johnathan Herreta, Miles Jungclaus, Miya Kuroiwa, Avery Massey, Margaret Miller, Calvin Moehlman, Pacey Nelson, Seth Phillips, Madison Richardt, Brady Riker, Isabelle Schild, Carson Sehr, Jamie St. Clair-Linde, Taylor St. Clari-Linde, Faith Stevens, Iain Thomas, Emily Toms, Alexis Wierenga, Kaleb Wilkening, and Albert Williams

Rapid City Christian: Joel Broberg

St. Thomas More: John Blote, Bridget Blote, Nick Lust, Will Raymond.

Stevens High School: Renna Al-Haj, Ingrid Anderson, Emily Barrett, Anderson Benjamin, Claire Bernard, Wendy Blickensderfer, Terrin Bond, Gabrielle Carter, Dalton Eckman, Ethan Ellender, Haley Erickson, Eda Ezunlar, Wyatt Fenner, Katherine Garrett, Madison Gromer, Megan Hagel, Keaton Haug, George Hong, Aleah Horsley, Andrew Josten, Reagan Larson, Alexandra LaVake, Caleb Lockhart, Isabelle Lust, Taylor Middleton, Ross Moriarty, Madison Murphy, Elizabeth Nesland, Zachary Nesland, Bennet Outland, Maria Pecora, Dakota Perez, Abigail Policky, Chris Policky, Carmen Richardson, Alison Rick, Anne Schleusener, Abbie Schoenberner, Ellie Stone, Jonah Swartz, Aidan Thornburg, Kailey Tubbs, Brian Updike, John Wheeler, Maycee Wieczorek, Youngeun Yang, Youngjoo Yang, and Alan Zhu.

All-State Chorus members from Rapid City were:

Rapid City Central: Isabel Bryant, Stephanie Hight, Brenden Matt, Ezekiel Mestad, Kassi Evert, Kali Allison, Michael Wasson, David Hazel, Madisyn Dailey, Shelbi Blankartz, Jordan Running Wolf, Caleb Points At Him, Kaitlin Teague, Emma Petermann, Stephen DeWitt, Dusten McGuffey, Olivia Perli, Rose Lamoureaux, Aaron Iverson, and Devon Engel.

Rapid City Christian: Heather Goddard, Malia Goodrich, Faith Murray, Brennen Barber, and James Vander Vorst.

St. Thomas More: Angela Weber, Megan Stone, Kaylee Barnes, Nathaniel Aftanski, Josiah Hanson, Mia Hilt, Karlie Reagan, Rudy De Leon, and Eli Nelson.

Stevens High School: Micah Chandler, Spencer Christensen, Bella Dela Cruz, Zach Dempsey, Camryn Grant, Reese Hanna, Aaron Ingalls, Trevor Johnson, Hannah Lipp, Noah Lytle, Alexa Martin, Alie Martin (alternate), Erik Merkle, Carter Meyer, Elizabeth Nesland, Zachary Nesland, Carter Nesland, Alvin Orata, Claire Palmreuter, Anne Schleusener, Kylie Schneider (alternate), Brian Shirley, Christian Sudmeier (alternate), and Kayla Thompson.

Holmquist’s art on exhibit

BROOKINGS | South Dakota State University senior Becca Holmquist will display her senior visual arts exhibition Oct. 30-Nov. 3 at the Ritz Gallery in Grove Hall on the SDSU campus.

Holmquist’s exhibition, “Our Greatest Creation,” includes a variety of graphic design work, animation and prints.

A graphic design major, she is the daughter of Tim and Nancy Holmquist of Rapid City and is a 2012 graduate of Rapid City Central High School.

A public reception will be held from 4 to 6 p.m. Nov. 3.

Veterans receive Jacket Ride Scholarship

SPEARFISH | Black Hills State University-Rapid City recently awarded four students veterans Jacket Ride Scholarships.

Recipients were Steve Edoff, accounting major from Rapid City, Daniel Etter, history education major from Rapid City; Hrair Palyan, general studies major from Northridge, Calif., and Bryan Vandersloot, business major from Box Elder.

In addition, Edoff also received an additional $1,000 from plastic surgeon Dr. Juris Bunkis, Los Angeles, Calif., who was one of the 70 motorcyclists taking part in the ride.

The BHSU Dennis Kirk Jacket Ride was held during the Sturgis Motorcycle Rally to raise funds for student veterans.

Originally from New Underwood, Edoff joined the Army in 2009, one year after he graduated from high school. He served on active duty for four years as a cannon crewmember with the 4th Infantry Division.

“I deployed in March of 2012 at the age of 20 to Kunar Province in Afghanistan. My first son was born during that deployment and I didn’t meet him until he was six months old,” Edoff said.

Following his service to the Army, Steve enlisted in the South Dakota National Guard where he continues to work as a budget analyst.

Edoff expects to graduate in December 2018, and then plans on becoming a commissioned officer in the South Dakota Army National Guard. His wife, Michelle, graduated from BHSU with a degree in elementary education, this past May. The couple has three children.

Get tips on free stuff and fun ideas delivered weekly to your inbox

Area students are Merit semifinalists

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) named the following West River area students as semifinalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship program: Max Oesterling, homeschool, Custer; Michael Patton, Hill City High School Hill City; Sara Cotey and Natalie Montoya, St. Thomas More High School, Rapid City; Ingrid Anderson and Ellie Stone, Stevens High School, Rapid City; Logan Smith, Spearfish High School, Spearfish; Hunter Hawk, Chadron High School, Chadron, Wyo.; Madeleine Murphree, Campbell County High School, Gillette, Wyo.

FFA awards range scholarships

The South Dakota FFA Foundation awarded $100 scholarship to students placing first in each of the three SD Regional Range Evaluation Competitions this fall.

The 2017 scholarship recipients are: Dalton Howe, Redfield; Anna Beer, Lemmon and Grady Maaland, Deuel.

Scholarships are made possible by a contribution to the SD FFA Foundation from LeRoy and Cathie Draine of Black Hawk. “These scholarships represent a good combination of three important beliefs: first, our respect for the integrity of the land, our soils and water; second, the imperative to provide educational opportunities for understanding and the wise use and care of the land; and third, faith in the process of developing knowledgeable custodians for the future,” said Cathie Draine.

WellFully taking applications

WellFully is now accepting applications for its 2018 scholarships.

Each year, WellFully awards up to six scholarships, ranging from $1,000 to $5,000, to any high school junior or senior or current college student who has ever participated in any WellFully program.

The scholarship program started with a donation from the Morning Optimists Club in Rapid City and continued through donations received at the WellFully benefit dinner and from individuals throughout the year.

The deadline to apply for the 2018 scholarships is December 31, 2017. Award announcements to be made in January 2017, and presented Feb. 15 at the annual Well Fully “We Believe in Kids” Benefit Dinner.

For more information go to wellfully.com or call Jessica Olson, executive director, at 605-718-4870 ext 215.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.