Two newly-elected Butte County Commissioners took their seats Tuesday, Jan. 8, as the commission reorganized for 2013.

Cal Geis and James Ager, both of Belle Fourche, took their seats as the commission began the year. They replace Stan Harms and Ken Hansen who were defeated in the June Republican Primary. There was no November general election ballot opposition to either of the two.

Kim Kling was elected chairman and Ken Fernen vice chairman.

The annual commission reorganization also includes setting of meeting dates, official depositories for county funds, naming courthouse deputies and clerks and county employee wages.

Commissioners also established travel expense rates, indigent burial and cremation costs and a county investment policy.

They also designated the Butte County Post as the county's official newspaper for legal publications.

South Dakota counties begin their fiscal and elected official terms in January although their budgets are set in the early fall of the previous year.

Each year even polling places are officially named at the commission's first meeting.

County Auditor Elaine Jensen also acts as the commission's secretary and is responsible for filing the commission's minutes in the official newspaper.

Commissioners also will be appointed to special committees to oversee various aspects of county business ranging from buildings to road policies.


(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.