Newell School Board receives honor

Members of the Newell School Board received special recognition at Monday night's school board meeting.

From the left are Tyler Trohkimoinen, Todd Youngberg, Miles Burtzlaff, Lisa Wendt, Leeann Gaer and Darren Alexander. Board President Jeremiah Weeldryer is holding the plaque awarded to the board.

Courtesy Photo

NEWELL - Members of the Newell School Board earned statewide recognition for their dedicated participation in activities, board development and training and demonstrated leadership at various areas and levels.

The Newell School Board earned a Gold Level award for their participation in the Associated School Boards of South Dakota’s board recognition program: ALL, which stands for Act, Learn, Lead and honors the work of school boards striving to enhance their knowledge base of board work.

By participating in ASBSD activities, training opportunities and demonstrating leadership at the local, state and national level, school boards accumulated points throughout the 2016-17 school year to achieve an award level.

“The Newell School Board is committed to their students, parents, staff and community and we’re pleased to honor and recognize their hard work and dedication,” ASBSD Executive Director Wade Pogany said.

On Monday, September 11 at 6:30 p.m. a representative from ASBSD will honor the Newell School Board with the presentation of their ALL plaque and we invite you to join us in covering this as you see fit.

In the inaugural year of the program, nearly one-third of the total number of public school boards in South Dakota earned an ALL award through the variety of training, development and leadership opportunities.

Get news headlines sent daily to your inbox

“There’s a very apparent pledge by the Newell School Board and school boards across the state to enhance public education in South Dakota,” Pogany said.

ASBSD is a private, non-profit association representing more than 850 South Dakota school board members, the 149 school districts they govern and the students they serve.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.