Dawes, Sioux, Sheridan county election filings complete

2014-03-11T15:53:00Z Dawes, Sioux, Sheridan county election filings completeBy KERRI REMPP Record Editor Rapid City Journal
March 11, 2014 3:53 pm  • 

There will only be two contested races on the primary ballot in Dawes County, both for seats on the Dawes County commissioners.

In district one, incumbent Jake Stewart is being challenged by Wayne Fisher on the Republican ballot. In district two, also on the Republican ballot, incumbent Stacy Swinney will face Vic Rivera in the primary May 13.

The rest of the Dawes County elections will advance to the general election Nov. 4.

Five men, four of whom filed on the final day, are seeking to fill three vacancies on the Chadron city council. Incumbent Levi Grant filed his application for re-election Feb. 18, the final day for incumbents to submit paperwork. The four newcomers are Sean Waggener, Mark Werner, Garrett Lower and Bryan LaPorte.

The race for Crawford mayor will be between current mayor Terrence Haugen and David Nixon. Five individuals are vying for three spots on the Crawford school board. They are incumbents Marie Wohlers, Robert Oldfield and Barry Stewart and newcomers James Wasserburger and Cameron Cuttlers.

Incumbents Tom Menke and Sandy Roes and newcomer Jim O’Rourke are asking voters to elect them to the three vacancies in the Chadron school board.

The rest of the candidates in Dawes County’s general election are: Cheryl Feist for clerk, Lindy Coleman for assessor, Barbara Sebesta for treasurer, Karl Dailey for sheriff, Vance Haug for attorney, Sharon Harrison for district court clerk and Philip Curd for county surveyor. Incumbent Edwin Kuhnel is the only candidate for the Crawford city council’s north ward, and Roy Norgard has filed for the south ward city council seat there.

Sioux County Elections

In Sioux County, only one race will appear on the primary ballot, while the remainder of the races will automatically roll forward to the general election due to the lack of competition.

Four individuals are running for two spots on the Sioux County commissioners board. Incumbent Hal Downer will seek re-election, while three new candidates are also vying for the two spots – Dan Jordan, J.W. Geiser and Kelly Strain.

The race for Sioux County school board is contested, but not by enough candidates for it to be placed on the primary ballot. There are three vacancies on the board and five people are seeking the seats. Among them are incumbents Nick Sanderson and Dave Howell and newcomers Syd Meidell, Jacqueline Buhr and Jessica Turbiville.

Running for the other offices in Sioux County are: Michelle Zimmerman for county clerk; Adam Edmund for county attorney; Lyle Staudenmaier for county sheriff; Barbara Serres for county treasurer; and Donald Brush for county surveyor. They are all incumbents.

Sheridan County Elections

In Sheridan County, races for county assessor and county sheriff are each contested by two Republicans and will appear on the primary ballot. Incumbent Trudy Winter will face challenger Amanda Salisbury for the county assessor’s position, and incumbent sheriff Terry Robbins will go up against newcomer Scott Decoste.

The Hay Springs school board has three vacancies for which four people have filed – incumbents Everette Langford, Marilyn Reed and Brenda Johnson and newcomer Glenn Muhr.

The remainder of the races in Sheridan County are uncontested. James Krotz is running for re-election to the county commissioners from district two, and Jack Andersen is seeking re-election for district three on that board. Incumbents Sindy Coburn, Peg Sones and Carol Stouffer have filed for re-election to the clerk, treasurer and district court clerk offices, respectively. Jamian Simmons is seeking the county attorney’s seat, and incumbent Michael Varn will ask voters to re-elect him as public defender.

There are three vacancies on the Gordon city council, and three incumbents have re-filed: Nancy Russell, Tim Bounous and Thomas Evans. Incumbents Linda Shadbolt, Carol Balius and Patricia Faulk are seeking re-election to the three vacancies on the Gordon Memorial Hospital board. Kathy Willnerd and Kari Johnson, both incumbents filed for election to the Gordon-Rushville school board. There are three vacancies on that board.

Incumbents Mathew Jansen (north ward) and Steve Willnerd (south ward) hope to retain their spots on the Rushville city council. Current Rushville mayor Chris Heiser is also seeking re-election. Richard McKay is seeking the spot of mayor in Hay Springs, and Luke Marcy has filed for election in the east ward for the Hay Springs city council.

There are no filings for spots on the Gordon Airport Authority, the Rushville Airport Authority and the Hay Springs city council west ward. There is one vacancy for the Gordon and Hay Springs races and two vacancies for the Rushville airport board.

Copyright 2015 Rapid City Journal. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick


About Chadron

The Chadron Record
248 W. Second St.
Chadron, NE 69337
Phone: 308-432-5511
Fax: 308-432-2385
Editor Email: kerri.rempp@lee.net

Chadron Chamber of Commerce

706 W. Third St.
Chadron, NE 69337

City of Chadron

234 Main St.
Chadron, NE 69337

Chadron Police Department

125 Main St.
Chadron, NE 69337

Chadron Volunteer Fire Dept.

302 W. Third St.
Chadron, NE 69337

Chadron High School

901 Cedar St.
Chadron, NE 69337

Chadron State College

1000 Main St.
Chadron, NE 69337

US Forest Service
Nebraska National Forest and Grasslands and Pine Ridge Ranger District

125 N. Main St.
Chadron, NE 69337

Chadron State Park

15951 Highway 385
Chadron, NE 69337

Pine Ridge Job Corps Center
15710 Highway 385
125 N. Main St.
Chadron, NE 69337

Chadron Community Hospital

825 Centennial Drive
Chadron, NE 69337

Dawes County Courthouse

451 Main St.
Chadron, NE 69337

Chadron Area Featured Businesses

South Dakota Featured Businesses