Chadron State College Health, Physical Education and Recreation faculty members honored four students with major of the year awards during the 2017 Nebraska Society of Health and Physical Educators (SHAPE) Conference hosted Nov. 6-7, in Lincoln.

Students honored were Nicholas Colgate of Rio Rico, Ariz., Health Education Major of the Year, Jyssica Forch of Stratton, Recreation and Sports Management Major of the Year, Marco Sanchez of Casper, Wyo., Physical Education Major of the Year and Dacia Stuhr of Bradshaw, Exercise Science Major of the Year.

Dr. Dawn Brammer, associate professor in Health, Physical Education and Recreation, said students who received awards were nominated and voted on by CSC HPER faculty. Selection was based on academic performance, ability to work with others, involvement in events hosted by the HPER department and other categories.

“We feel the efforts from these four students are a great representation of what our majors are capable of in their particular fields,” Brammer said.

In addition to the major of the year honorees, two CSC alumnae were honored at SHAPE Conference.

CSC alumna Donna Gimeson of Chadron was recognized as the 2017 Dance Teacher of the Year. Gimeson, a 2005 graduate, is the director of Consuming Fire School of Dance in Chadron.

Get news headlines sent daily to your inbox

Another alumna, Brenda Fritzler of Chadron, was selected for the 2017 Service Award. Fritzler, a 1993 graduate, is employed by Lunchtime Solutions and works as the food service director for Chadron Public Schools.

HPER faculty members Brammer and Dr. Donna Ritzen, associate professor in Health, Physical Education and Recreation, both attended and presented at the conference.

Brammer serves as the Parliamentarian on the Nebraska SHAPE board and co-presented the pre-conference training “Empowering Fitness Education Champions: A Presidential Youth Fitness Program.”

Ritzen presented a breakout session titled “Two Step: Learn to Dance/Teach the Basic and Advanced Steps.”

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.