Five Chadron State College wrestlers placed at the RMAC Tournament in Colorado Springs on Saturday.

The Eagles were led by redshirt freshman Jacob DeSersa of Hot Springs, who was the runner-up at 149 pounds. His wins included pinning Jared Mestas of Colorado State-Pueblo, last year’s third place finisher at the conference tourney.

Two CSC entries, redshirt freshman Chance Karst at 131 pounds and junior Rulon Taylor at heavyweight, placed fifth and juniors Jacob Otuafi at 157 and Johnny Porter at 165 were sixth.

Cal Baptist won the team title, scoring 132.5 points while last year’s conference winner, Colorado State-Pueblo, was the runner-up with 110.0. San Francisco State moved up to third with 104.5. Colorado Mesa was fourth, followed by Western State, New Mexico Highlands, Adams State, Colorado Mines and the Eagles, who had 44.5 points.

All the champions were from the top three teams. Pueblo had four and both of the California schools, which are affiliate members of the conference for wrestling, had three. Cal Baptist also had three runners-up to help boost its point total. Pueblo had no one place second.

Cal Baptist’s Nolan Kistler, was voted the tourney’s outstanding wrestler and also received the Summit Award that goes to the conference’s wrestler with the highest grade point average.

A 174-pounder, Kistler won his first two matches by technical falls and won the championship match 10-4. Kistler finished fourth at last year’s national tourney.

Two 2017 RMAC winners repeated this year. They are Daxton Gordon of Cal Baptist at 149 and JaCobi Jones of Pueblo at 165.

The championship results:

125--Josiah Seaton, CSU-P, dec. Alex Nunez, CB, 8-2; 133—Nathan Cerventez, SFS, dec. Luis Gurule, AS, 3-2; 141—Austin Solari, SFS, dec. Logan Pine, NMH, 3:54; 149—Daxton Gordon, CB, won by injury default over Jacob DeSersa, CSC; 157—Mason Boutain, SFS, won by injury default over Payton Tawater, Mesa.

165—JaCobi Jones, CSU-P, won by medical forfeit over Chris Smith, CB; 174—Nolan Kistler, CB, dec., Brandon Supernaw, WS, 10-4; 184—JaVaughn Perkins, CSU-P, dec. Nick Fiegener, CB, 3-1 in OT; 197—Garrett Strang, CB, dec. Joe Bencomo, AS, 7-3; Hwt—Cody Johnson, CSU-P, dec. Sam Alnassiri, SFS, 6-2.