Four Eagles make RMAC Academic First-Team

(Left to right) Tyler Kiess, Jackson Dickerson, Keenan Johnson, Will Morgan

Four Chadron State College football player have been placed on the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference’s All-Academic First-Team this fall. Twenty-three more Eagles qualified for the Honor Roll.

The first-team choices are senior Tyler Kiess of Loveland, Colo., redshirt sophomores Jackson Dickerson and Keenan Johnson, both of Chadron, and sophomore Will Morgan of Fort Collins, Colo.

Nominees for the honor must have at least a 3.30 cumulative grade point average and be in at least their second year in the program.

Kiess is a four-year starter at defensive end for the Eagles. He entered his senior year with a 3.588 GPA while majoring in business administration. He also was a first-team choice in 2015.

Dickerson is a standout wide receiver and has a 3.750 GPA as a health and physical education major.

Johnson has started every game the last two years at inside linebacker and has a 3.808 GPA while majoring in mathematics. He also was a first-team RMAC All-Academic selection last year as a redshirt freshman.

Morgan is in his second season as the Eagles’ placekicker, and has a 3.80 GPA as an education major.

The CSC honorable mention selections, by class, follow:Seniors—Colton Wright, Burns, Wyo.

Juniors—Sam Couch, Weatherford, Texas; Merritt Crabtree, Newcastle, Wyo.; Kevin Coy, Davenport, Fla.; Matt Reader, Appleton, Wis., Kyle Temple, Norfolk; and Matt Vinson, Box Elder, S.D.

Sophomores—Stevann Brown, Casper; Calder Forcella, Greybull, Wyo.; Colt Foster, Hemingford; Lane Jersild, Chadron; Tyler Lewis, Arvada, Colo.; Jared Maciejczak, Box Elder, S.D.; Travis Mills, Rapid City; Micah Scherbarth, Gordon; Matt Vargas, Modesto, Calif.

Get news headlines sent daily to your inbox

Redshirt Freshmen—Jon Hanson, Rapid City; Baylor Hayes, Cheyenne; Sam McKinley, Colorado Springs; Jake Norris, Fort Morgan, Colo.; Keegan Parker, Castle Rock, Colo.; Ryan Sayre, Castle Rock, Colo.; Baden Shelmadine, Alliance.

Coy, Reader and Temple are three-time on the Honor Roll honorees. This is Vinson’s second year on the Honor Roll sandwiched around being a first-team choice a year ago.

Colorado Mines had five selections on the 24-man first-team. Besides the Eagles, Colorado Mesa and CSU-Pueblo had four. Adams State, Black Hills State and South Dakota Mines all had two and Dixie State had one.

Chad Hovasse, a junior wide receiver at Adams State, was chosen the outstanding offensive selection and Blake Nelson, a lineman from Colorado Mesa, is the defensive player of the year.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.