Jordan Mills

Chadron State sophomore Jordan Mills of Alliance holds off Augustana center Marcus Asmus. CSC Photo by Con Marshall

Augustana dominated at both ends of the court early in the game last Saturday afternoon the final non-conference contest for the Chadron State men’s basketball team.

The Vikings, now 5-2, sank their first five field goal shots, including three treys, and seven of their first eight, while the Eagles missed their first dozen attempts. The result was a 17-0 lead with 4:41 off the clock.

Things finally slowed down for Augustana and got better for the Eagles, but the visitors led by as many as 32 points and Chadron State was never closer than 14 after the initial stampede. The halftime score was 42-16.

“They punched us in the mouth,” CSC coach Houston Reed said. "It took us too long to respond on both ends of the floor. We've got to learn from this and get better.”

Chadron State outscored the Vikings 37-31 in the second half, when several of the CSC starters played sparingly. Players coming off the bench outscored the starters 33-20 all told.

Augustana was 12 of 31 from the field and just one of six from long range in the second half. The Eagles were 10 of 20 and five of eight, besides making 12 of 14 free throws.

Three players—Jordan Mills, Walker Andrew and Adoum Mbang—each finished with nine points to lead the Eagles.

Augustana had just nine turnover; the Eagles 18.

Get news headlines sent daily to your inbox

Augustana—Stevan Schaefer 16, John Warren 15, Marcus Asmus 10, Matt Cartwright 8, Jordan Spencer 8, Adam Dykman 5, Andy Kerkman 4, Jameson Bryan 3, Zac Stevenson 2, Bodey Behrends 2. Totals: 28-63 (8-21) 9-13 73 points, 36 rebounds, 9 turnovers.

Chadron State—Jordan Mills 9, Walker Andrew 9, Adoum Mbang 9, Eric Jamerman 7, Vonsinh Sayaloune 6, Dru Kuxhausen 5, Michael Johnson 2, Jaisean Jackson 2, Matt Reader 2, Jeremy Ruffin 2. Totals: 15-45 (7-21) 16-20 53 points, 35 rebounds, 18 turnovers.

Augustana 42 31 ----73

Chadron State 16 37 ----53

3-pointers: Aug—Schaefer 2, Cartwright 2, Warren, Asmus, Dykman, Bryan, all 1. CSC—Mills 2, Sayaloune 2, Kuxhausen, Jamerman, Andrew, all 1.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.