HOT SPRINGS – The Hot Springs Bison football team recently held its end-of-the-season awards banquet where letter winners and other honorees were recognized following the team’s 2-7 season, featuring a pair of 44-0 blowout wins over Custer and Bennett County.

Leading the list of awards was the announcement that junior quarterback Morgan Harkless and junior linebacker/offensive lineman Brand Baker were named All-Black Hills Conference (Rushmore Division). Fellow juniors Thane Lockhart and Garrett Heil were honorable mention.

For the team awards, Harkless was also voted Most Valuable Offensive player as well as the Bison Award/Team MVP. He had 911 yards passing on 54 completions and nine touchdowns, as well as 503 yards rushing on 120 carries and four touchdowns. Harkless also won Most Valuable Special Teams award with three kickoff returns for touchdowns.

The Most Valuable Offensive Line award went to both Brand Baker and Garrett Heil.

Most Valuable Defensive player was Lockhart with 38 tackles and three interceptions. Most Valuable Defensive Line went to Caleb Maciejewski with 22 tackles, three sacks and five tackles for loss.

Most Improved Player went to freshman lineman Brayden Coleman; Most Valuable JV/Scout Player was junior wide receiver/defensive back Clay Giesler.

The “Friend of Bison Football” award was presented to Ann Remington.

Following is a list of the letter winners for the season (1 year - Letter, 2 year - Pin, 3+ years - Bar):


Marcus Harkless-Letter; Brayden Coleman-Letter; Wrider Allison-Letter.


Teejay Atwood-Letter; Gavin Heil-Letter; Caleb Maciejewski-Pin; Thomas Massa-Letter.

Get news headlines sent daily to your inbox


Thane Lockhart-Bar; Matt Norton-Pin; Morgan Harkless-Bar; Clay Giesler-Letter; Kalub Wilson-Pin; Devin Saucerman-Letter; Garrett Heil-Pin; Brand Baker-Pin; Caden Shanklin-Letter; Chad Kelso-Letter; Gage Uhlir-Letter


Riley Abbott-Pin


Breanna Remington-Bar; Stephanie Lawrence-Letter; Golden Saucerman-Letter.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.