Students part of leadership class

The following students were chosen for the Chamber of Commerce’s 2013 Junior Leadership Rapid City Class. Julia Bodine, St. Thomas More junior; Sequoyah Chavez, Central High School sophomore; Molly Connor, Central High School sophomore; Juliane Fett, Stevens High School senior; Daniel Frost, Stevens High School senior; Ashley Hagel, Stevens High School senior; Kristina Hammerquist, Stevens High School junior; Sarah Hast, Stevens High School junior; Matthew Howard, Home School junior; Erica Krump, St. Thomas More senior; Arie LaCroix, Stevens High School senior; Danielle LaFleur, St. Thomas More senior; Thomas Pfeifle, Stevens High School sophomore; Zach Policky, Stevens High School junior; Corby White, St. Thomas More senior; Christian Whitesell, Stevens High School senior; and Lucas Wright, Stevens High School junior.

The five week program begins Jan. 31 and concludes with graduation on March 7.

Locals to play for inauguration

The following students from the local area will perform with the Northern State University Marching Wolves in the 57th annual Presidential Inaugural Parade on Jan. 21. Megan Bennett and Nicole Merriman, both of Pierre; Shelby Clarkson and Rachael Heggem, both of Buffalo; Eli Corbett, Lead; Calvin Cramer, Camp Crook; Delayna LaBelle, Black Hawk; Sage Marshall, Mission; Molly Rodriguez, Joel Schlottman, Jordan Seidel and Benjamin Villa, all of Rapid City; Brandon Sieck, Onida; Maggie Tupper, St. Onge; Megan Vockrodt, Pierre; and Jessica Massa, Winner.

The band is among more than 40 organizations invited out of more than 2,800 applicants. The university is accepting donations to help fund the trip. For more information, contact the NSU Foundation at 626-2550 or email


Wall School Board was recently selected as the 2013 ASBSD School Board Award of Excellence Recipient. The board will receive a recognition plaque and a $1,000 cash award from BankWest.

President's/dean's list

The following local students were named to the president's academic honors list for the fall semester at Dakota State University in Madison: Jared Ahlers, Whitewood; Christopher Blanchette, Rapid City, with highest honors; Andrew Coy, Hill City, with highest honors; Michael Davis, Rapid City, with highest honors; Danielle De Mers, Colome; Thomas Fletcher, Rapid City; Ryan Gimbel, Hill City; Adam Girtz, Black Hawk, with highest honors; Katie Guthmiller, Rapid City; Eric Holm, Rapid City; Shelby Meyer, Isabel, with highest honors; Alanna Ray, Box Elder; Jacob Thomas, Fort Thompson, with highest honors; Stephanie Varcoe, Rapid City, with highest honors; and David Verhey, Rapid City, with highest honors.

The following students from the local area were named Chadron (Neb.) State College’s fall academic honors lists: President’s list: Hill City: Chelsea Waldorf; Hot Springs: Jacob VanGundy; New Underwood: Abbie Marti; Oelrichs: Cole Romey and Jocelyn Romey; Oral: Linda Littlefield; Rapid City: Stephanie Bailey, Tess Grebner, Betsy Moler, Eric Schiermeister; Spearfish: Tony J Garcia; Wall: Cheyenne Deering. Dean’s list: Belle Fourche: Christian Buresh, Scott Henderson, Tiffany Valandra; Box Elder: Kayla Bunch, Christina Marie Scheler; Custer: Mariah Gaston, Shea Koch; Hill City: Mackenzie Swanson; Hot Springs: Laven Adair, Scott Burgess, Cheyenne Christopherson, Bethany Cook, Leala Jimerson, Anna Schumacher, Mercedes Uehling-Mason, Schuyler Wetzel; Martin: Abbie Alexander; Oral: Derrik Walton; Pierre: Danielle Griese; Rapid City: Merya Atterbery, Hannah Ceremuga, William Christensen, Allyson Digmann, Brandon Gorsuch, Chapman Ham, Victoria Lowe, Kelley McNabb, Jessica Orose, Kattie Ranta, Mattaya Thompson, Nichole Cyrene Tomlin; Sturgis: Molly Cleland, Kelsey Kinney; Wall: Jesse C. Willis; Wasta: Tomilyn Trask; Winner: Sarah Kingsbury.

The following students from the local area were named to the fall dean’s list at North Dakota State University in Fargo. Lemmon: Halie M. Dalzell; Pierre: Alec C. Espeland, Kennede D. Guptill, Steven C. Palmer and Elizabeth A. Schultz; Rapid City: Bridget N. Overby; Redfield: Eric J. Baird; Spearfish: Chase Voorhees.

Logan Schaefers and Amanda Przymus, both of Rapid City, were named to the dean's list at Morningside College in Sioux City, Iowa.

Kia Tucker of Nemo was named to the fall semester dean's list at Bethany Lutheran College in Mankato, Minn.

Honor Roll

Hot Springs Elementary

Grade 4: Wrider Allison, Sydney Bogner, Danyal Chowdhury, Logan DeSersa, Willow Heidebrink, Alexander Pannone, Taylor Pulscher, Jessi Schroeder, Shyann Stewart, Braden Abbott, Aerial Bochmann, Bradley Hagen, Emma Parker, Michael Rooks, Lovanna Blakey, Jaquel Hartley, Bailey Juhl, Ryan Koupal, Jaida Kramer, Cayden Parmley, Trinity Shaw

Grade 5: TeeJay Atwood, Karissa Curtiss, Justus Lucey, Shelby Nellen, Tori Pannone, Breanna Remington, Golden Saucerman, Chloe Sawyer, Clayton Schnose, Roland Shoun, Steven Wingler, Alexander Billbruck, Abigail Cloyd, Lily Firkins, Bronte Gibson, Stephanie Lawrence, Morgan Madsen, Jessy White, Jameson Bossert, Jaiden Campbell, Tanner Eikenberry, Alexa Gilbert, Magdalene Jamieson, Caleb Maciejewski, Thomas Massa, Jared Stearns, Julian Parker

Hot Springs Middle School

8th Grade: Aaron Atchley, Baxter Bolden, Nile Frasier, Skyler Haden, Larissa Halls, Kali Hill, Matthew Horrocks, Amber Hulse, Lane Lemery, Makenzie McNemar, Michael Mileusnich, Trey Nachtigall, Adam Nelson, Rylee Olstad, Samantha Pucket, Ty Pulscher, Ashley Reynolds, Alexis Rhew, Gillian Roda, Race Thayer, Kole Vollmer, Felix Whirl Wind Horse

7th Grade: Brett Atkinson, Charity Britain, David Cook, McKenzie Cope, Zach Cox, Cammie Crosby, Dustin Davis, Leslie Dulin, Josie Haden, Annelise Hellwig, Jace Hubley, Kylee Jones, Oliver Juhl, Brendan Kearns, Diamond Miller, Alex Phelps, Shelby Roda, Sean Silverson, Logan Smith, Aspen Stover, Marya Thompson, Kristopher Tubbs, John Turner, Samantha Wade

6th Grade: T'Aunah Benson, Josie Bogner, Orion Bowen, Bayley Ferebee, Kailyn Fischer, Madyson Gese, Kelton Harris, Olivia Hayes, Thane Lockhart, Shelby Miller, Sydney Miller, Malory Oster, Madilyn Palo, Gavin Parker, Chase Root, Tierra Schroeder, Ashley Seegrist, Hayley Seegrist, Caden Shanklin, Kaylen Stearns, Stockten Walter, Tatum Williams, Alyssa Wingler

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.