SDSU official co-chair of national biomass panel

2013-07-06T14:00:00Z SDSU official co-chair of national biomass panelThe Associated Press The Associated Press
July 06, 2013 2:00 pm  • 

BROOKINGS | A South Dakota State University administrator has been appointed co-chair of a federal committee that promotes the research and development of energy from plant material.

SDSU Vice President for Research Kevin Kephart has served on the Biomass Research and Development Initiative Technical Advisory Committee since 2011. Federal officials recently appointed Kephart to co-chair the panel with former Mississippi Gov. Ronnie Musgrave.

The initiative carries out research and development of biofuels and other products. Biomass is organic material from wood, grass, crop residues and algae. It is used to produce fuel and other products.

The goal of the initiative is to develop technologies and processes to produce biofuels at prices competitive with fossil fuels.

In addition to serving as vice president for research at SDSU, Kephart is a plant science professor.

Copyright 2015 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.

No Comments Posted.

Add Comment
You must Login to comment.

Click here to get an account it's free and quick



Fur-Ever Wild was just approved to keep wolf cubs and fox kits at a wildlife education center in Deadwood. Do you agree with the South Dakota Animal Industry Board's ruling?

View Results

Recent Blog Posts

Osu Sensei

Osu Sensei

The one thing that is constant in our job is that you meet quite a few people every day. It may be only a handful others it may range into 20 …

May 23, 2015 1:00 pm(0)



JBEEZ = JB's (adorable car)

May 23, 2015 8:37 am(0)

Beam me up

Beam me up

Sometimes, the every-day grind of photojournalism leads to some less-than-spectacular assignments. Last week, I was sent out to Summerset to t…

May 22, 2015 1:30 pm(0)

Valley Queen disputes Otter Tail’s pricing

The state Public Utilities Commission never seems to have a dull day of late. The latest dispute to land in the laps of commissioners Chris Ne…

May 22, 2015 7:43 am(0)

Cosmetology commission gets new members

Gov. Dennis Daugaard appointed Laurie Brandner of Pierre and Crystal Carlson of Beresford to the state Cosmetology Commission. Carlson succeed…

May 21, 2015 7:57 am(0)