Try 1 month for 99¢

Fifteen Chadron State College football players were placed on the 2014 Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Football All-Conference Teams, the conference announced last week.

Coaches voted for first- and second-team players at each position and could not vote for their own players. Honorable mention was accorded players who received at least one first-team vote or two second-team votes.

Four Eagles are first-team selections. They are offensive linemen Mike Lorenzo and Sam Parker, safety Ryan Wood and kick returner Cody Paul.

Four more Chadron State players were second-team selections. They are running back Michael Madkins, defensive lineman Zach Sandstrom, linebacker Dylan Furrier and cornerback Lane Haller.

Quarterback Jonn McLain, wide receivers Kyle Vinich and Danny O’Boyle, tight end Ethan Bauer, linebacker Isaac Holscher, safety Cole Montgomery and kicker Randy Wentz earned honorable mention.

Lorenzo, a senior from Oak Park, Calif., and Parker, a senior from Harrison, helped anchor an offensive line that helped the Eagles average 450 yards per game.

The pair ranked first and second in the voting for the offensive line with Lorenzo listed first and Parker second among the five first-team choices. Each of the remaining three selections is from Colorado State-Pueblo. 

Parker also was a first-team all-RMAC choice a year ago.

Wood, a sophomore from Stockton, Calif., was the RMAC Defensive Freshman of the Year in 2013, and was a hard-hitting force in the middle of the field for the Eagles. He had 84 tackles, seven pass break ups and a pair of interceptions.

Paul, a sophomore from Seal Beach, Calif., averaged 28.7 yards on 22 kick returns to lead the conference. He also averaged 6.5 yards while rushing for 540 yards and four touchdowns, including a fourth quarter touchdown to seal the comeback win against Western New Mexico on Senior Day.

Madkins, a senior from Sacramento, eclipsed the 1,000-yard mark for the first time in his career. He rushed for 1,074 yards, which moves him into seventh in school history for career yards with 2,563. He also caught 27 passes for 227 yards and scored 12 touchdowns this fall.

Sandstrom, a senior from Chadron, played in the middle of defensive line that limited the opponents to less than 180 yards rushing per game. He finished with 20 tackles and two sacks.

Furrier, a junior from Tucson, Ariz., led the team with 118 tackles. He also had 2.5 sacks, seven tackles for loss and a pass breakup.

Haller, a senior from Gordon, had 76 tackles, including 45 solo tackles. He had seven pass breakups and an interception. He also received all-conference laurels the previous two years.

Those earning honorable mention also were large contributors for the Eagles. McLain, who threw for 2,581 yards and 22 touchdowns, now owns nearly every CSC career passing record.

 Vinich, a junior from Casper, led the team with 63 receptions for 899 yards and nine touchdowns.

O’Boyle, a junior from Gering, caught 35 passes for 566 yards and seven TDs.  Bauer, a senior who graduated from North Bend High in eastern Nebraska, caught 29 passes for 265 yards and blocked three kicks.

Holscher, a senior from Scottsbluff who began his career as a receiver and switched to linebacker entering his junior year, was second on the team with 97 tackles this fall, including 10 for lost yardage.

Montgomery, who was Vinich’s high school classmate at Natrona County High, had four interceptions while playing safety to lead the Eagles and took part in 62 tackles.

Also for the Eagles, Wentz was 12-13 on field goals, with his lone miss coming on a blocked kick. He also was 37 of 39 in PAT kicks.  Both of his misses hit the uprights. Just a sophomore, he’s also a former Scottsbluff Bearcat.

The RMAC Offensive Player of the Year is New Mexico Highlands receiver Tyler Slavin, who led the nation in receiving yards 1,418 on 119 receptions.  The Defensive Player of the Year is CSU-Pueblo’s Darius Allen, last year’s Gene Upshaw Award winner as the outstanding lineman in Division II.

The Special Teams Player of the Year is Pueblo’s punt returner Stephan Dickens. The Offensive Freshman of the Year is Western New Mexico’s running back Marques Rodgers and the Defensive Freshman of the Year is cornerback Dustin Rivas of Colorado Mesa.

CSU-Pueblo head coach John Wristen, who guided the Thunderwolves to a 10-1 regular season and fourth straight RMAC championship, is the Coach of the Year. Thirteen players from his team made the RMAC first-team.

Chadron State ended the 2014 season with an 8-3 record, including seven wins in the RMAC. It was the 25th time the Eagles won at least eight games.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.
You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.