Hot Springs National Honor Society President, Aspen Stover, inducting Hot Springs' newest class of National Honor Society members. 

It was an exciting evening for many Hot Springs High School students Monday. The 2017-2018 National Honor Society (NHS) Induction and Academic Awards Ceremony was held at the Mueller Center. 

The event started with the NHS induction ceremony. NHS president, Aspen Stover, lead the ceremony. She described the four pillars of NHS, scholarship, leadership, service and character. She went on to inform the audience on a number of different service projects tackled by NHS this year, including: the pop shoot fundraiser at high school basketball games, volunteering at the library and visiting with residents of Pine Hills. 

All members of the 2017-2018 Hot Springs NHS were recognized, they included: Aspen Stover (President), Serenity Engel (Vice President), Kaylen Stearns (Treasurer), Madilyn Palo (Historian), Abrianne Baca (Parliamentary), Mit Patel and Charity Britian. 

Current NHS members literally passed the torch to the 2018-2019 inductees as four candles were lit representing NHS's four pillars. 

New members include: Teejay Atwood, Jameson Bossert, Madyson Gese, Magdalene Jamieson, Adriana Kursh, Mary Lane, Caleb Maciejewski, Thomas Massa and Malory Olstad. 

After NHS's ceremony, the night continued with the Hot Springs High School Academic Awards Ceremony. Students were recognized for their academic achievements.  

Academic letter winners were recognized. First year letter winners included: Wrider Allison, Lovanna Blakey, Aerial Bockmann, Jordyn Carey, Brayden Coleman, Camilla Crosby, Alexia Gooder, Josie Haden, Olivia Hayes, Willow Heidebrink, Bailey Juhl, Adrianna Krush, Ava Krush, Thomas Massa, Austin McMillin, Shelby Nellen, Taylor Pulscher, Breanna Remington, Trinity Scherer, Jessi Schroeder, Caden Shanklin, Steven Wingler and Katelin Wynia. 

Second year letter winners: Abrianne Baca, Brand Baker, Alex Bilbruck, Magdalene Jamieson, Lyanne Pineda, Shelby Roda, Golden Saucerman, Tierra Schroeder, Kennedy Seaman and Alyssa Wingler. 

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

Third year letter winners: Josie Bogner, Serenity Engel, Bayley Ferebee, Mary Lane, Thane Lockhart, Dimond Miller, Malory Olstad, Madilyn Palo, Ashley Seegrist, Hayley Seegrist, Kaylen Stearns and Aspen Stover. 

Fourth year letter winners included Charity Britain and Oliver Juhl. 

Honors chords were also awarded to students with high academic success. 

The evening culminated with scholarship awards. Both principal Mary Weiss and councilor Christ Christensen thanked the students and parents for the time spent with the high achieving group. 

Numerous community leaders, school staff and business leaders were present to award the scholarships to the young men and women for their hard work and achievement.  

Just under $200,000 were awarded to the young adults. 

 Hot Springs Kiwanis Scholarship Diamond Miller
 Hot Springs Kiwanis Scholarship Aspen Stover
 1st Interstate Bank Scholarship Shelby Roda
 Golden West  Charity Britain
 Hot Springs Rotary Scholarship Shelby Roda
 Hot Springs Rotary Grant  Diamond Miller
 Jack and Margaret Manke Memorial 4H  Jessica Steinmetz
 Dave Eldridge, M.D. Memorial Scholarship and Mavis Erwin Memorial Scholarship 4H Aspen Stover
 Marvin and June Wilkinson Memorial Scholarship 4H Dustin Davis
 American Legion Auxiliary Scholarship  Charity Britain 
 American Legion Auxiliary Scholarship Diamond Miller
  American Legion Auxiliary Scholarship Aspen Stover
 Brianna Bogner Memorial Medical Scholarship  Shelby Roda
 Susanne Jett Davis Music Scholarship  Shelby Roda
 Clifford and Joyce Wilson Community Service Scholarship  Charity Britain
 H.R. Woodward Science Scholarship  Abrianne Baca
 Hot Springs Alumni Teaching Scholarship  Jordyn Carey 
 Hot Springs Alumni Prestigious Scholarship  Aspen Stover
 Leslie and Elizabeth W. Jensen Scholarship  Logan Gooder
 Hot Springs Bison Booster Scholarship  Charity Britain
 Hot Springs Bison Booster Scholarship Josie Haden 
 Hot Springs Bison Booster Scholarship Aspen Stover
 Hot Springs High School Industrial Arts Scholarship  Molly Pengra
 Hot Springs High School Industrial Arts Scholarship  Skyler Archambeau
 Outstanding Achievement Award  Josh Stanley 
 Post Prom Scholarship  Jace Hubley
 Post Prom Scholarship  Jordyn Carey
 P.E.O. Centennial Scholarship  Jordyn Carey
 HSEA Scholarship  Jordyn Carey
 HSEA Jennie Rail Scholarship  Leslie Dulin 
 Regina Bates Chemistry Scholarship  Oliver Juhl 
 June Wilkinson Outstanding Music Award Shelby Roda 
 Bill and Mary Fischer Technical College Scholarship  Riley Abott 
 Marvin Wilkinson Outstanding Science Award Abrianne Baca 
 Hot Springs Masons Harmony Lodge #10 Scholarship  Wyatt Pulscher
 Hot Springs Masons Harmony Lodge #10 Scholarship  Diamond Miller
 Hot Springs Masons Harmony Lodge #10 Scholarship  Shelby Roda
 Hot Springs Masons Harmony Lodge #10 Scholarship  Jordyn Carey 
 Adelaide M. Ward Scholarship  Trestina Connelly
 Darlene Hagedorn Scholarship   Trestina Connelly
 Grand Lodge of South Dakota Order of Odd Fellows  Madison Russell 
 Pepsi Cola Scholarship  Cheradon Willard 
 Elks Lodge 1751 Most Valuable Student Scholarship, The Jack nelson Memorial Scholarship, The Minnesota-Daktas District Kiwanis Foundation Scholarship, The Grand Canyon University Persistence Scholarship,  and the TEACH Grant   Jordyn Carey 
 Colorado State University Presidential Scholarship, Elks National Foundation Scholarship and Black Hills Electric Scholarship  Aspen Stover 
 Morningside College's Founders Scholarship, Music Grant and Achievement Award  Shelby Roda

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.
You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.