Try 1 month for 99¢

The Hot Springs Bison Athletics Hall of Fame inducted it's third class of hall of famers Saturday, September 22. 

Inductees included: H.R. Woodward, Ralph Sieg, Rick Wass, Jacqueline DeMent Meclcher and the 1967 Bison football team. 

Woodward was a Hot Springs High School teacher, coach and eventually served as superintendent. He was employed by the district from 1916 until his death in 1958 and is the namesake of Woodward field. 

Ralph Sieg competed in four athletic events during the 1950s. He was a member of the football team, baseball team, basketball team and track team. He went on to play college basketball for Chadron State College. 

Rick Wass was a part of 1974 South Dakota State Champion football team which was previously inducted into the Bison Hall of Fame in 2016. He was a leader on the team and went on to be a standout running back for the South Dakota School of Mines. 

Jacqueline DeMent Meclcher was a five-time state champion in track and field, winning the 200 meter dash and 300 meter hurdles her junior year in 1996 with a second place finish in the triple jump. Her senior year, she won the triple jump, 200 meter dash and 300 meter hurdles. She also competed in the 100 meter dash as a senior at the state meet but was disqualified for a false start. This was her first and only false start of her Bison career. 

The 1967 Bison Football team was undefeated, winning nine games. They were voted tenth in in the state the Augus Leader Football Poll at a time when there was no playoffs. Most of the teams ranked ahead of them were much larger schools. 

The team consisted of: Mark Stiver, Mike English, Craig Walgren, Rich Schuttler, Joe Hiller, Bill Himmewright, Charles Brown, Jim Farrier, Gary Piper, Dennis McMillin, Danny Gordon, Gary Pierce, Ben Kaiser, Kevin Sanders, Larry Varick, Walter Schuppan, Bryon Bednar, Bill Kienitz, Jim Rahn, Chuck March, Tom Murati, Tim Moffitt, John Theisen, Sandy Huddleston, Dan Wilder, Ivan Mehlhaff, George VanDeWater, Steve Sieg, Casy Dunsmore, Ken McClug, Lyndall Hulit, Mill Marks, along with managers Luke Konantz, Gary Hulit and Jim Ray, Head Coach Don Mathis, assistant coaches Charlie McGaw Chuck Cogdill and Jerry Jones and cheerleaders Charlene Donnell, Shelly Wilson, Lorna Francis, Susan Inman and Daleine Burleson. 

Nominees for next year's induction class must be made by May 1. Information for nominations can be found at

The Hot Springs Athletic Hall of Fame takes additional projects past the Hall. They are responsible for fundraising for the stadium seating project at Woodward Field. 

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.
You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.