On August 21, 1959, President Dwight D. Eisenhower signed a proclamation admitting Hawaii into the Union as the 50th state.

One of the smallest states, Hawaii was established as a U.S. protectorate in 1894 following a U.S. military-backed coup, which deposed Queen Liliuokalani, the last reigning monarch of Hawaii.

The president also issued an order for an American flag featuring 50 stars arranged in staggered rows.