Subscribe for 33¢ / day
Chadron State Cross Country

Photo by South Dakota Mines sports information

Chadron State runners Phil Duncan (left) and Riley Howard were among the leaders from start to finish during the South Dakota Mines Meet on Saturday.  Running between them is Ayrton Ledesma-Fuentes of Gillette College, the eventual winner.  Duncan was sixth among the 43 runners and Howard placed third.

Both Chadron State College cross country teams opened the season as the runners-up at the South Dakota Mines Invitational Meet at Robbinsdale Park in Rapid City on Saturday morning.

Black Hills State placed ahead of the Eagles to win won both titles.

Led by winner Tori Moore, the Black Hills women had four runners place among the top seven while scoring 30 points.  With all five of their top runners finishing among the top 11, the Eagles tallied 35 points.

In the men’s competition, five Yellow Jackets placed among the top nine to account for their 28 points.  Chadron State had five men finish among the top 14 and scored 40 points.

Moore’s winning time was 19:34.27 while CSC’s Nicky Banzhaf of Chadron was second over the five kilometer course in 19:56.93 and teammate Alyse Henry of Rock Springs, Wyo., placed third in 20:02.65.

The Lady Eagles’ No. 3 runner was freshman Julia Eskelson of Meeker, Colo., who was ninth, followed closely by teammates Taylor Allison of Gordon at 10th and Californian Dominque Oden, 11th.

The men’s race was won by Ayrton Ledesma-Fuentes of Gillette College, who was fourth at last year’s meet.  His time in the 8 kilometer race was 26:52.30.  The runner-up was Josh Davis of Black Hills State in 27:00.02.  Sophomore Riley Howard of Anchorage, Alaska, showing major improvement from a year ago, led the Eagles by placing third in 27:01.96. 

Howard placed 10th at last year’s meet.

The Eagles’ second runner was Chadron native Phil Duncan at 27:22.30, good for sixth place.  Teammate Sheldon Curley, a freshman from Arizona, was seventh, just 2.41 seconds slower.  Also figuring in the point calculations for the Eagles were Eric Yager of Hot Springs, S.D., who was 10th, and Joseph Gertner of Fort Morgan, Colo., 14th.

CSC coach Brian Medigovich said the smoke in the air as a result of fires in Montana and Canada hampered one of the Eagles’ top runner, Levi Avila, who has allergies.  Avila had been the top runner during most of the preseason workouts, but couldn’t keep pace Saturday.

The coach added that he was generally pleased with the way his runners competed.  

The Eagles will host their annual invitational meet this coming Saturday, starting at 9 a.m.  Following the collegiate competition, the Chadron High Meet featuring both high school and middle school runners will take place.     

Get news headlines sent daily to your inbox

Women’s Results

Team scoring-1, Black Hill State, 30; 2, Chadron State, 35; 3, South Dakota Mines, 55.

1, Tori Moore, BHSU, 19:34.27; 2, Nicky Banzhaf, CSC, 19:56.93; 3, Alyse Henry, CSC, 20:02.65; 4, Savannah Davis, BHSU, 20:25.37; 5, Adeline Straatmeyer, SDM, 20:38.40; 6, Cailey Roth, BHSU, 20:40.81; 7, Nicole Davis, BHSU, 20:56.71; 8, Ryley Sutton, SDM, 21:01.71; 9, Julia Eskelson, CSC, 21:05.02; 10, Taylor Allison, CSC, 21:05.81. 11, Dominque Oden, CSC, 21:08.37; 12, Abbie Fredrick, BHSU, 21:18.37; 13, Erica Westerman, SDM, 21:28.18; 14, Libby Friesen, SDM, 21:29.90; 15, Rachel Lovelace, SDM, 21:31.55; 16, Kayla Gagen, SDM, 21:32.55; 17, Kari Radke, SDM, 21:35.81; 18, Emma Willadsen, CSC, 21:38.55; 19, Madison Watson, CSC, 21:53.49; 20, Sarah Myers, CSC, 21:59.40.

Men’s Results

Team scoring-1, Black Hills State, 28; 2, Chadron State, 40; 3, Gillette College, 75; 4, South Dakota Mines, 95.

1, Aryton Ledesma-Fuentes, GC, 26:52.30; 2, Josh Davis, BHSU, 27:00.02; 3, Riley Howard, CSC, 27:01.96; 4, Jordan Theisen, BHSU, 27:09.52; 5, Isaac Iverson, BHSU, 27:11.05; 6, Phil Duncan, CSC, 27:22.30; 7, Sheldon Curley, CSC, 27:24.71; 8, Jake Iverson, BHSU, 27:33.11; 9, Nathan Fredrick, BHSU, 27:36.49; 10, Eric Yager, CSC, 27:37.71. 11, Austin Williamson, BHSU, 27:40.43; 12, Jonah Theisen, BHSU, 27:49.49; 13, Jacob Huber, SDM, 27:53.90; 14, Josef Gertner, CSC, 27:54.27; 15, Levi Fried, BHSU, 28:04.62; 16, Nathan Smith, GC, 28:05.58; 17, Andrew Ferris, SDM, 28:07.87; 18, Joe Rath, BHSU, 28:11.74; 19, Aidan Anderson, SDM, 28:15.14; 20, Jorge Garcia, GC, 28:17.11.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.