Try 3 months for $3

The South Dakota Country Music Hall of Fame (SDCMHoF) will be presenting the 13th Annual Awards in a ceremony at the South Dakota State Fairgrounds in Huron on Sunday Sept. 4.

The 2016 Inductees will be presented their awards on the Farm Bureau Dakotaland Stage by Gate 3 starting at 6 p.m.

This year’s event will be dedicated in memory of Wilbur and Elizabeth Foss – both prior inductees and Lifetime Achievement award winners/ Wilbur passed away in November of 2016 and Elizabeth passed away Aug. 1, 2016.

The Inductees are: Bobby Humphrey, Rapid City; Frank “Buddy” Ree, Aberdeen; Eugene Noonan, Centerville; Eugene “Whitey” Boettcher, Sioux Falls; Mike Nepodal, Matt Nepodal, Corsica; Kathy Koenig, Tyndall; Liz Fisher, Scenic; Francie Ganje, Sturgis; Joyce Ruesink, Castlewood; and Donnie Backman, Wilmot.

The Lifetime Achievement Award winner for 2016 is Howie Gamber from Huron.

The CD of the year award goes to “Aces & Eights” – Kim Bachman and Harland Allen of Belle Fourche, for their CD titled “Aces and Eights.”

A new category for 2016 is promoter of the year and the honorees are Lloyd and Bev Schafer of Revillo for their tenacious efforts or promoting country jamborees in Revillo and support of country musicians.

The Stage band will be comprised of prior inductees: Roy King, Elaine Peacock, Paul Engebretson, Richard Danielson, Isabel Troubaugh, and Sam Tulio. They will present a short program, then the inductees will all preform, and the inductions and benefit auction will take place.

Inductees are all nominated by their peers, family, or friends. They are then selected on their musical history, promotion and support of country music in South Dakota. Musicians and performers are selected from all the entire great state of South Dakota. There are no age restrictions except for the Lifetime achievement award. The selected inductee must be at least 70 years old and have promoted country music in South Dakota for most of their lives.

In addition to honoring the musicians, the use of some of the contributions for the Hall of Fame is to help provide musical supplies for the beginners at the lower school levels.

The group believes kids need support and encouragement to become involved in the arts and music is an art. This is the organization’s way of giving back to the community as well.

The Hall of Fame will also present Elaine Peacock and Isabel Trobaugh on the DakotaLand Stage on Saturday night Sept. 3rd at about 5:50 p.m. - prior to the Williams and Ree Show. Williams & Ree, Elaine, and Isabel are all prior Hall of Fame inductees and proud to perform country music for the fans.

The Hall of Fame is non-profit and all work is done by volunteers and donations.

Subscribe to Daily Headlines

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.
You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.