Subscribe for 33¢ / day

The Rapid City Council has voted unanimously to move its fireworks show from New Year’s Eve back to July Fourth starting in 2017.

Most cities in Pennington County have prohibited July Fourth fireworks displays, and the county has created a special phone line to provide the public such information.

Setting off fireworks within the limits of Rapid City, Hill City, Keystone and Wall is prohibited. But “novelty fireworks” such as party poppers, snappers, sparklers and toy caps are allowed, said sheriff’s office spokeswoman Helene Duhamel.

Get news headlines sent daily to your inbox

An area 1 mile from the Rapid City limits has been designated a “buffer zone” where fireworks can be lit until 11 p.m. every day up to Sunday, Duhamel said. New Underwood, meanwhile, is allowing fireworks displays within the city until Thursday.

Fireworks are also not allowed in areas under U.S. Forest Service management. The illegal use of fireworks is punishable by up to 30 days in jail and/or a $500 fine. These details can also be obtained by calling 394-2151 and pressing option 9.

Contact Tiffany Tan at

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Cops and Courts Reporter

Cops and courts reporter for the Rapid City Journal