Rich Sattgast


Republicans swept the other statewide offices on Tuesday. 

Current state Treasurer Rich Sattgast won the state auditor's race against Democrat Tom Cool, with 64 percent of the vote to Cool's 36 percent. Current state Auditor Steve Barnett was elected to the post of secretary of state on Tuesday after defeating Democrat Alexandra Frederick. Barnett won 65 percent of the vote; Frederick won 35 percent.

Republican Josh Haeder was elected state treasurer with 62 percent of the vote, over Democrat Aaron Matson's 38 percent.

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

School and Public Lands Commissioner Ryan Brunner won 62 percent of the vote and was elected to another term over Democrat Woody Houser, who won 38 percent of the vote.

Public Utilities Commission Chairwoman Kristie Fiegen won 65 percent of the vote for another term to the commission over Democrat Wayne Frederick (35 percent). 

South Dakota statewide results

Candidate Votes Percent
698 of 698 precincts
Kurt Evans and Richard Shelatz (L) 4,844 1
Kristi Noem and Larry Rhoden (R) 172,894 51
Billie Sutton and Michelle Lavallee (D) 161,416 48
U.S. Representative
George D. Hendrickson (L) 4,912 1
Dustin "Dusty" Johnson (R) 202,673 60
Tim Bjorkman (D) 121,002 36
Ron Wieczorek (I) 7,322 2
Attorney general
Jason Ravnsborg (R) 179,049 55
Randy Seiler (D) 145,526 45
Secretary of State
Steve Barnett (R) 211,039 65
Alexandra Frederick (D) 112,777 35
State auditor
Rich Sattgast (R) 202,031 64
Tom Cool (D) 113,599 36
State treasurer
Josh Haeder (R) 194,998 62
Aaron Matson (D) 117,729 38
Commissioner of school and public lands
Ryan Brunner (R) 193,412 62
Woody Houser (D) 116,739 38
Public Utilities Commissioner
Kristie Fiegen (R) 206,410 65
Wayne Frederick (D) 108,897 35

Get the latest local news delivered daily directly to your inbox!

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

— This story has been updated with final election results.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.