Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
15 deaths brings state's COVID-19 death toll to 1,585
alert top story

15 deaths brings state's COVID-19 death toll to 1,585

  • Updated

The Department of Health reported 15 deaths Sunday.

That brings January's total to 97 deaths and 1,585 overall. There were eight men and seven women who died in Sunday's daily report. Pennington, Butte and Oglala-Lakota counties each reported a death as did Brule, Codington, Hamlin, Hughes, Hutchinson, Jackson, McPherson and Minnehaha counties. Two deaths were recorded in Brown and Dewey counties.

The number of people hosopitalized in the state grew by three to 237, but that number can be deceptive as only six of the deaths reported Sunday had been hospitalized. There are 54 people in intensive care units and 31 on ventilators. In the Black Hills region, 36 patients are being treated for COVID-19 illnesses with four in ICU and four on ventilators.

South Dakota had 417 new cases on 1,068 people tested Sunday. The total number of cases since March increased to 103,318 with 5040 of those still active.

Sixty-two children under 19 were included in the new cases Sunday as were 77 people in their 20s. There were 53 people over 70 who tested positive. 

Support Local Journalism

Your membership makes our reporting possible.

Pennington county recorded 42 positive tests out of 161 returned Sunday. The county has had 11,797 total cases with 639 of those still active.

Meade County reported 13 new cases and Lawrence County had seven. There were five new infections in Oglala-Lakota County, two in Fall River County, one in Butte County and no new cases in Custer County.

Minnehaha County had 86 positive tests and there were 33 in Union County. Brown County recorded 28 new infections and there were 26 in Lincoln County. 

Brookings, Kingsbury and Yankton counties each reported 15 positive tests and there were 13 in Codington County and 12 in Davison County.

Aurora and Miner counties reported eight new cases and Beadle County added seven. Edmunds County had six new infections and there were five in Bennett, Hughes, Lake and Stanley counties.

Deuel, Douglas, Spink and Walworth counties each had four new infections and there were three in Bon Homme, Clay, Hutchinson, Lyman, Perkins, Sanborn and Ziebach counties.

Two new cases were recorded in Brule, Hamlin, Marshall, Moody and Turner counties and one in Charles Mix, Clark, Day, Dewey, Grant, Roberts, Sully and Todd counties.

Concerned about COVID-19?

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alert

Breaking News