Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
O’Neill crowned Miss South Dakota 2021, Rapid City's Widvey is runner-up
alert top story

O’Neill crowned Miss South Dakota 2021, Rapid City's Widvey is runner-up

  • Updated
Miss SD

Miss South Dakota and her court: 3rd runner-up Miranda O’Bryan, 2nd runner-up Annie Woodmansey, Miss South Dakota 2021 Kaitlin O’Neill, 1st runner-up Hunter Widvey, 4th runner-up Margaret Samp

Kaitlin O’Neill, of Groton, was crowned Miss South Dakota 2021 Saturday night. In addition to her scholarship of $8,000 for winning the competition, O’Neill was a preliminary talent winner Thursday evening ($1,000), and on-stage interview winner on Friday ($500.) She was also the overall interview winner ($500) and took home the state community service Award ($1,000).

O’Neill’s platform is “Bloom - Healthy Mind, Healthy Body, Healthy You.” Her talent was a contemporary ballet to Bad Guy by Eklipse. She is the daughter of Robin O’Neill and Steve O’Neill and competed as Miss Dakota Plains. O’Neill graduated from Minnesota State University-Mankato, with majors in dance and marketing.

First runner-up was Hunter Widvey of Rapid City, garnering a $4,000 scholarship. Widvey also won the $1,000 preliminary talent award Friday night.

Second runner-up was Annie Woodmansey of Pierre. In addition to her scholarship award of $2,000, she received the Quality of Life scholarship and the Sylvia Tannehill Kindness scholarship, each for $1,000.

Support Local Journalism

Your membership makes our reporting possible.

Third runner-up was Miranda O’Brian, taking home a scholarship of $1,500, in addition to the $500 award for preliminary on-stage interview and social initiative pitch on Thursday.

Fourth runner-up and winner of a $1,200 scholarship was Margaret Samp, Sioux Falls. In addition, she received the Ray Peterson “Rookie of the Year” award of $500 for being the top-placing first-time candidate.

Rounding out the top eight semi-finalists and receiving $1000 scholarships were Carly Goodhart of Sisseton, who also won a $750 STEM Scholarship, Sylvie Larson of Harrisburg, and Maleah Eschembaum of Aberdeen.

Courtney Remick, Prior Lake, MN, won the most talented non-semi-finalist ($300 scholarship) as well as a $750 STEM Scholarship. Emma Salzwedel of Sioux Falls was voted Miss Congeniality by her fellow contestants ($500 scholarship). Baylee Dittman had the top interview for a non-semi-finalist ($300 scholarship).

Fifteen women from across the state competed for the title. All won scholarships, totaling nearly $35,000.

Kaitlin O’Neill will compete at the Miss America Pageant at the Mohegan Sun resort in Connecticut, December 2021.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alert

Breaking News