Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
South Dakota winter coaches of the year announced

South Dakota winter coaches of the year announced

  • Updated

The South Dakota Coaches Association announced its Coach of the Year and Athletic Director of the Year awards for the winter sports season Monday.

DeSmet's Jeff Gruenhagen won for boys basketball and Derek Larson of Aberdeen Roncalli won for girls basketball, while Kimball/White Lake/Plattes-Geddes won for wrestling and Audra Rew of Mitchell earned the honor for gymnastics.

Dakota Valley's Bill Clements was awarded Athletic Director of the Year, and Jerry Beers of Brookings was honored with Official of the Year.

The following West River coaches received nominations:

  • Dana Nachtigall, Hot Springs - gymnastics
  • Matt Donnelly, Philip Area - wrestling
  • Spencer Novotny, Winner - wrestling
  • Jared Bouman, White River - girls basketball

Rapid City's Darcy Nagel and Mike Watson of Sturgis also received nominations as officials.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

The horrendous planning by the person/board to land lock the west side of Rapid City by the three routes used most commonly to commute should …

Please Rapid City, learn about the zipper merge and wait to merge until the cones. Merging early might seem polite, but it backs up traffic an…

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alert

Breaking News