You have permission to edit this article.
12 South Dakota counties targeted for sobriety checkpoints

12 South Dakota counties targeted for sobriety checkpoints

  • Updated

RAPID CITY, S.D. (AP) — Authorities have released a list of a dozen counties selected for sobriety checkpoints in August.

KOTA-TV reports the counties identified by the South Dakota Department of Public Safety are Lawrence, Meade, Charles Mix, Codington, Davison, Hamlin, Jackson, Lincoln, Minnehaha, Spink, Walworth and Yankton.

Authorities say the checkpoints are done each month in different counties as a way to discourage drivers from drinking and then driving.

The checkpoints are funded by the South Dakota Office of Highway Safety and conducted by the South Dakota Highway Patrol with the help of local law enforcement.

For copyright information, check with the distributor of this item, KOTA-TV.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alert

Breaking News