The South Dakota School of Mines men’s soccer program had two of its players named to the 2018 All Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Second Team announced by the league Tuesday afternoon.

Mines junior forward Justin Barkow and senior goalkeeper Kyle Daledovich were named to the second team.

“It’s incredibly excited for these two individuals to be honored,” said Hardrocker coach Andrew Conniff. “Any time we step on the pitch, I think our opponents and the crowd quickly recognize that Justin and Kyle are playing at an extremely high level. The other coaches in the RMAC recognizing these two as some of the best players in the conference is something Justin and Kyle should be so proud of.”

The All-RMAC First and Second Teams along with the major awards for the season were voted on by the conference’s 12 head men’s soccer coaches. Coaches were not allowed to vote for their own players.

Barkow, 6-foot junior from Longmont, Colorado, earned RMAC Second Team honors for the second consecutive year. He finished the 2018 campaign with five goals, two assists and racked up 12 points. He took 47 shots on the year and played an impressive 1,201 total minutes.

With three season under his belt as a Hardrocker, Barkow is the all-time leader in goals (19); has the most shots taken in a season (47); and is a two-time RMAC Academic Player of the Year as well as Second Team Academic All-American and Academic All-District as a sophomore.

Daledovich closed out the season with 94 saves while teams took 226 total shots this season against him. The Lohman, Missouri native finished with a .752 save percentage. Daledovich walks away for the Hardrocker program as the all-time leader in saves (230); record for saves in RMAC play (75); and single season record for save percentage (.752)

As for the rest of the RMAC, Westminster’s sophomore Amit Hefer, Colorado School of Mines’ Jason Zobott, Colorado Mesa’s Briley Guarneri and MSU Denver’s Jaime Gutierrez led the all-conference team with Player of the Year honors.

Hefer was named Player of the Year, while Jason Zobott of Colorado School of Mines picked up Defensive Player of the Year honors. Colorado Mesa’s Briley Guarneri notched Goalkeeper of the Year, and Jaime Gutierrez of MSU Denver was named Freshman of the Year. Josh Pittman of Westminster was selected as the Men’s Soccer Coach of the Year.

Chadron State wrestlers ranked 21st

You have free articles remaining.

Become a Member

The Chadron State College wrestling team opens its season on Saturday in Laramie, Wyoming, after receiving some positive recognition from the National Wrestling Coaches Association on Monday.

The NCAA Division II coaches' organization released its preseason rankings, based on a committee vote, which lists the Eagles tied for No. 21 in the nation. Chadron State enters its first open meet as the second-highest ranked team in the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference and the third-highest in Super Region 6.

Brock Thumm, the regional runner-up last season in Super Region 4, received a No. 3 ranking at 141 pounds. 

Reigning 197-pound National Junior College Athletic Association champion Wade French was ranked No. 9 in the nation entering his first NCAA season after transferring from Western Wyoming College. 

Finally, heavyweight Rulon Taylor made it in the rankings at No. 12. 

Twenty-three CSC wrestlers will travel to Laramie for the University of Wyoming Cowboy Open, which is the team's season-opener for the fourth consecutive season.

Two Raiders named to football cheerleading all-state team

Emily Barrett and Isabelle Johnson.of Rapid City Stevens were named to the South Dakota Cheerleading Coaches Association Fall 2018 Sideline Football Cheer All State team.

Others named to the team included: Laura Jensen and Autumn Rudolph from Aberdeen Central, Lindsay Hillestad and Avery Meyer from Arlington/Lake Preston, Keeley Klein and Shelby Zimmerman from Gregory, Shelby Specht and Amanda Moon from Harrisburg, Natalie Gill and Macy Masteller from Herreid/Selby, Kallie Shook and Demi Langdeau from Lyman, Kendra Jennings from Mitchell, Brisa Contreras and Casondra Gerlach from Mt Vernon/Plankinton, Bennett McIntosh and Emma Kopplin from Parkston, Ashlyn Spilde and Sara Duncan from Sioux Valley, Skyler Kludt and Delane Wobig from Viborg-Hurley, Hannah Owens and Emma Kopplin from Redfield/Doland and Sadie Woods and Tedra Vrbka from Winner.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.
You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.