Try 1 month for 99¢

From The Journal Sports Staff

SPEARFISH - XBA Commissioner John Jordan has announced that former Houston Rocket Mitchell Wiggins has been named the head coach of the Spearfish based XBA team.

Wiggins was Florida State's all time leading scorer and was recently inducted into the ACC Hall of Fame.

Wiggins spent six years in the NBA, mostly with the Rockets where he was a starter on an NBA Championship team. He served as a player/assistant coach for the Hickory Nutz in summer XBA in the Carolinas.

"I am excited to be coming to the Dakotas, the Black Hills has a rich history of minor league basketball success and I hope to help add to that legacy in Spearfish," said Wiggins.

"We are very pleased to have someone with Mitchell's background as a head coach in our league. Mitchell proved himself worthy in the Carolinas and will be a nice fit for the Black Hills region," said Jordan.

The big question will be whether Wiggins will take on the player/coach role in Spearfish. He did play in the Southeast, where he averaged nearly 24 points per game and was also an all league performer.

"I will have to wait and see. I did work out with the Toronto Raptors in the pre-season and, even though I am 42, I can still contribute if need be," added Wiggins.

The XBA also announced that Spearfish general manager and ex-Black Hills State assistant coach, Buster Vincent, will also serve as Spearfish's assistant coach.

Ryan Schular named best S.D. grid player

CHICAGO - Gatorade has awarded the South Dakota High School Football Player of the Year award to Ryan Schular of Sioux Falls Washington.

"Ryan is the best lineman our state has seen in a very long time," said Washington coach Kim Nelson. "He can dominate a game, at times, from either side of the ball. His play has elevated our entire program."

Schular maintains a 3.25 grade-point average. He is a member of the Warrior Club, basketball team and track team. He is also a Sunday school teacher.

GDC names academic all-conference teams

SIOUX FALLS - The following seniors have earned Academic All Conference from the Greater Dakota Athletic Conference member schools during the 2002 fall sports season.

To qualify for Academic All Conference, the athlete or manager must be a senior, have a cumulative 3.5 GPA and be a member of the varsity team.

Boys Golf

Rapid City Central-Adam Wortman, Timothy Osterloo; Van Carmody, David Nothdurft, Sioux Falls Linclon; Jacob Helms, Sioux Falls Roosevelt; Jason Anderson, Dan Lindquist, Nathan Reade, Sioux Falls Washington; Sam Eckrich, Spearfish; Brent Bouzek, Chris Collins, Jason Hart, Treavor Hendrickson, Logan Hollers, Ryan Sanderson, Bill Shetler, Sturgis.

Girls Tennis

Justin Hatzenbuhler, manager, Yashreeka Hug, Tanya Shepersky, Rapid City Central; Michele Hogan, Kelly Patnoe, Kinsley Powers, Rapid City Stevens; Katie Chiu, Liesl Schwerin, Callie Wallenberg, Sioux Falls Lincoln; Maggie Wenger, Sioux Falls O'Gorman; Anitra Zaske, Sioux Falls Washington; Jessica Marshall, Sturgis.

Boys Cross Country

Nick Duke, Matt Harrelson, Rapid City Central; Chris Blackler, Aaron Helmers, Nicholas Kingsbury, Carl Nelson, Troy Thielen, Rapid City Stevens; Josh Duerksen, Dan VanderWoude, Sioux Falls Lincoln; Jason Anglin, Matt Deal, Josh Tschetter, Sioux Falls O'Gorman; Grahm Bahnson, Peter Nesbitt, Sioux Falls Roosevelt; Chris Roozen, Andrew Vigoren, Spearfish; Kyle Kattke, Clay Smith, Sturgis.

Girls Cross Country

Kayla Beaird, Brandy Engel, Rapid City Central; Arianne Braithwaite, Shelby Hintze, Sarah Spencer, Sioux Falls Lincoln; Amy Duba, Juli Lommel, Sioux Falls Roosevelt; Robyn McKercher, Sioux Falls Washington; Kara Pies, Sturgis.


Sarah Butler, Rapid City Central; Alicia Comes, Laura Doshier, Sophie Hilton, Michelle Hogan, Ramsee Pagel, Rapid City Stevens; Katie Chiu, Julie Daughtery, Liesl Schwerin, Sioux Falls Lincoln; Anna Carlson, Sara Lipetzky, Christi Schulte, Sioux Falls O'Gorman; Jackie Mootz, Ashley Schulte, manager, Shelly Tangeman, Sioux Falls Roosevelt; Corrie Dickmeyer, Dawn Heeren, Amy Nelson, Sioux Falls Washington; Jessica Balding, Madelaine Erickson, Krista LaFayette, Spearfish; Etta Balo, Lindsay Carter, Steph Dyck, Laura Hammock, Megan Hanson, Amanda Heenan, Jenny Sargent, Stacy Schrock, Laura Weyrich, Sturgis.


Bryan Birkeland, Jevon Bowman, Keaton Cummings, Ashley Hoffman, manager, Dustin Jensen, Maggie London, manager, Robert McCreery, Danny Paul, Jayson Tischler, Rapid City Central; Luke Durr, Devin Lammers, Colby Larson, Mark Paulson, Jason Potts, Andrew Shepherd, Rapid City Stevens; Travis Behrens, Michael Leonard, Martin Merrick, Andrew Venrick, Sioux Falls Lincoln; Will Kappenman, Zach Lamberty, John Lyons, Joe Mahoney, Dan Scheiber, Sioux Falls O'Gorman; Brandon Breitling, Steven Burgess, Aaron Burkhardt, Aaron Haddorff, Beau Hudelson, Tyler Jesperson, Travis Kaiser, Michael Kruse, Brandon Maydew, Mitchel McKenzie, Alex Strenge, Sioux Falls Roosevelt; Kyra Berkness, manager, Ryan DeVries, Nick Haub, JJ Heyden, Tom Jensen, Peter Larson, Marc Lindquist, Chip Nail, Jordan Lundquist, Austin Parks, Sioux Falls Washington; Erik Kaitfors, Drew Hopson, Sara Keffeler, manager, Brian LeMay, Amanda McDaniel, manager, Weston Odekoven, Sturgis.


Kelli Allison, Rapid City Central; Kristen Baker, Jessica Gessner, Meghan Macleod, Corrinne Vottero, Rapid City Stevens; Kelly Brennan , Kelly Doohen, Andrea Wilson, Sioux Falls O'Gorman; Emily Nelson, Suzanne Roth, Sioux Falls Roosevelt; Angela Carlberg, Heeyoung Wang, Sioux Falls Washington; Sarah Hana, Angie Koski, Lavey Heltibridle, Jordan White, Sturgis.

Time Out Lounge lands

off-track betting license

RAPID CITY - A Rapid City business has been licensed to operate an off-track site for viewing and wagering on thoroughbred and greyhound races, it was announced on Friday.

The license was recently issued to the Time Out Lounge, 615 East north Street, by the South Dakota Commission on Gaming.

The Time Out is currently taking bets on horse races which are run at Arlington Park in the Chicago area; Bay Meadows near San Francisco; and Santa Anita, near Los Angeles; and on greyhound races from Tampa Greyhound Park in Florida, and St. John's Greyhound Park in Jacksonville, Fla.

In the simulcast wagering system, patrons at off-track locations bet on races which are run at tracks located in other cities. Information about the amount and type of bet is tranmitted electronically to the track where the races are run. Patrons who win are paid the same amount as a winning bettor at the live track.

Platte set to host girls

cage tourney Jan. 11

PLATTE - There will be a youth girls basketball tournament in Platte for girls grades 5-8 on Jan. 11.

The cost for grades 5-6 is $30 and for grades 7-8 it is $50.

For further information please contact Frank Cutler (605) 337-3270 (home) or (605) 337-3391 (work).

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.
You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.