Try 3 months for $3

Advance ticket sales for the 2011 South Dakota Sports Hall of Fame

banquet will end on Wednesday.

Fans planning to attend the 2011 Hall of Fame banquet April 9 can save $5 by ordering their tickets in advance.

All ticket sales will be handled by Dakota Sports in Sioux Falls  and are $35 in advance with a limited number of tickets available at the door for $40. Advance tickets are available by calling Dakota Sports at 332-2131 or toll-free at


The banquet starts with a social at 4:30 p.m., followed by dinner at 6 p.m. and the induction ceremony at 7 p.m.

Becky Flynn Jensen, one of the state’s greatest girls basketball players, will be among 10 inductees.

Also being inducted are two of Yankton College’s greatest athletes, world-class hurdler Tommie Lee White and football/baseball standout Roger Heirigs. Other members of the 2011 induction class are: University of South Dakota all-around athlete Steve Adkins, Dakota State multi-sport star Cliff Anderson, South Dakota School of Mines football coach Gary Boner, South Dakota State basketball star Lee Colburn, college basketball coach Doug Martin, Augustana quarterback/Washington High coach Jim Luce and referee Colin Kapitan.

Jensen now lives in Meckling, White in Los Angeles, Heirigs in Vermillion, Anderson in Graham, Wash., Martin in La Crosse, Wis., Luce in Sioux Falls and Kapitan in Yankton. Adkins, Boner and Colburn are being honored posthumously.

 The Hall of Fame was established by the South Dakota Sportswriters Association in 1968 and is now an independent non-profit organization. The 2011 class of inductees will boost membership to 215.

Subscribe to Breaking News

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.
You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.