Subscribe for 33¢ / day

Two Douglas High School all-time greats head this year’s Rapid City Sports Hall of Fame class along with three men whose contributions to youth athletics in the area would be hard to overstate.

Former Douglas standout Shannon Hellman Reed first made her mark as a state champion hurdler for the Patriots, winning the Class AA 100- and 300-meter hurdles in 2004 and 2005, including winning one of the most incredible races in South Dakota high school history when she clipped a hurdle in the 2004 300 finals, managed to somersault her way back up and chased down the pack to win in a gold-medal time of 46.08 seconds.

Reed went on to set multiple school records and win multiple national titles at both South Dakota School of Mines & Technology and Black Hills State University after transferring.

The second Douglas legend who will be inducted into the Rapid City Sports Hall of Fame is 1996 Class A state champion Steve Anderson.

Anderson, a longtime high school and college coach who is widely respected as one of the best basketball minds in state history, led the Patriots boys basketball program to its only state championship in 1996.

Two longtime contributors to the area’s strong wrestling scene will also be inducted — longtime official and coach Jerry Bussler and organizer Sam Benne.

Bussler, a retired coach and teacher at South Middle School, was one of the state’s best wrestling officials for 39 years. He officiated his final state wrestling tournament in Rapid City last season.

Benne has been an integral part of the grassroots organization of youth wrestling programs and tournaments in Rapid City since 1986.

The final Hall of Fame inductee is softball coach Dave Johnson, who managed the 2010 Harney All-Stars to a Central Regional Championship game appearance.

College Athletes of the Year

Get breaking news sent instantly to your inbox

Four current athletes will also be recognized at Monday night’s banquet.

Chadron State basketball standout Kattie Ranta, a Rapid City Central graduate, will receive the College Female Athlete of the Year award.

The duo of University of South Dakota thrower Denton Stephens of Rapid City Stevens and University of Minnesota, Mankato baseball player Parker Sullivan of St. Thomas More will share College Male Athlete of the Year honors.

Rapid City Stevens triathlete Tamara Gorman, who is also up for Female High School Athlete of the Year honors, has been named Independent Athlete of the Year for the second consecutive year for her unprecedented efforts on the international triathlon scene.

Gorman became the first American woman ever to win an International Triathlon Union event when she brought the 2013 Junior World title back from London.

The banquet will be held at the Rushmore Plaza Civic Center’s LaCroix Hall on Monday at 6:30 p.m. Tickets are available at the door.

Coming Monday: Area athletes vie for male and female high school athlete of the year honors.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.