Schaefer, Hyde earn All-America honors

Schaefer, Hyde earn All-America honors


The South Dakota High School Coaches Association and the South Dakota High School Cross Country and Track & Field Coaches Association announced its spring award winners.

Elizabeth Schaefer of Rapid City Stevens and Jacob Hyde of St. Thomas More were named the respective track and field All-Americans.

Erin Kinney of Harrisburg was also named a Girls' All-American, while Pierre Lear of Watertown was also named a Boys' All-American.

Schaefer concluded her outstanding high school career recently at the Class AA State Track and Field Championships in Sioux Falls with wins in the 100-meter hurdles and 300 hurdles. The state titles were her eighth in those two events in her career, including five straight in the 300.

Hyde dominated the Class A sprinting events for the Cavaliers, winning the 100-, 200- and 400-meter dashes. He also anchored the team's winning 4X200 relay, the school's seventh straight state title in that event.

Boys honorable mention winners were Tyler Hiatt of Sioux Falls Lincoln and Andrew Lauer of Sioux Falls Lincoln

Girls honorable mention winners were Jasmine Greer of Sioux Falls Roosevelt and Caelyn Valandra-Prue of White River

The Circle of Champions Coach of the Year is Jim Jarovski of Sioux Falls Lincoln

The South Dakota High School Coaches Association announced the Coach of the Year Awards for the spring of 2019 (Other nominees listed below each winner).

They include:

Boys’ golf — Joey Liesinger of Madison

Also nominated were Frank Cutler, Platte-Geddes; Jeff Halseth, Jeff Halseth, Sioux Falls Lincoln; Jim Person, Sisseton and Nick Rotella, Rapid City Stevens

Girls’ golf was Billie Jo Indahl of Burke.

Also nominated was Tom Jansa of Sioux Falls O’Gorman.

Tennis – Mike Zerr of Brandon Valley.

Also nominated were Tom Krueger, Sioux Falls Lincoln; Jason Olson, Rapid City Stevens; Steve Steele, Pierre; John Vogel, Aberdeen Central and Ryan Zink, Watertown

Boys’ track and field was Bill Hansen of Viborg-Hurley

Also nominated were Scott Benson, St. Thomas More; Jim Jarovski, Sioux Falls Lincoln and Karol Patterson, Wall

Girls’ track and field was Rachelle DeBeer of Deubrook Area

Also nominated were Jim Jarovski, Sioux Falls Lincoln; Cliff Johnson, Andes Central and Byron Pudwill, Bon Homme

These coaches will be recognized at the annual awards banquet at the Highland Conference Center in Mitchell on Sunday, July 7.

Expedition League Baseball

SPEARFISH 17, WHEAT CITY 5: The Sasquatch pounded out 21 hits in running past the Whiskey Jacks Wednesday night at Black Hills Energy Stadium in Spearfish.

Spearfish got five hits each from Josue Rangel and Jake Gray, and two home runs each from Jaxon Rosencranz and Gray in the lopsided victory.

Ben Larson got the win on the mound for the Sasquatch, giving up seven hits and all five runs in five innings. Riley McSherry pitched a scoreless sixth inning and Logan Wensley threw the final three innings unscathed.

The Sasquatch moved to 11-5 with the win. The two teams will face off again tonight at 6:25 p.m.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.

Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Most Popular

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alert

Breaking News