Subscribe for 33¢ / day

The Rapid City Rush announced Friday that defenseman Michael Young will be back with the team this season.

Young registered 33 points in 62 games last season and was named to the ECHL All-Star team.

“It’s great to be back. Rapid City is my home now, and there’s no other place that I’d want to play,” Young said in a statement from the Rush. “I’m very happy with the changes the organization has made, as well as the decisions coach Tetrault has made in brining a new crop of players to make this tenth year anniversary season one to remember.”

This is Young’s second stint in Rapid City and the 2017-18 season will be his second full season with the Rush.

“We’re so excited to have Michael back for the upcoming season. He had a great year last year, being an ECHL All-Star, and I expect a big year out of him,” Rush coach Daniel Tetrault said. “He skates extremely well and has a great shot, and will be a key factor in our power play again. If he can play to his All-Star level on a consistent basis every night, then we can be a premier defenses in the league.

“I expect him to be a leader, both on and off the ice as well. If he plays with the edge we know he can, then he can be important to our back-end.”

The Rush open the season Oct. 13 against the Allen Americans.

Annual Mike Cooley baseball tournament set

Get breaking news sent instantly to your inbox

The 10th annual Mike Coley senior men's baseball tournament will be played in Rapid City over Labor Day weekend.

Age divisions are 48+ and 58+. Games will be played Saturday, Sept. 2, Sunday, Sept. 3 and championship games on Monday, Sept. 4. Games will be played on Pete Lien Field and Fitzgerald Stadium.

First games every day at 9 a.m. Games will be seven innings, with the championship games nine innings on Monday.

Fans will have free entry to all games and concessions will be open. Teams are coming from Sioux Falls, Minnesota, Denver, Custer and Rapid City. The tournament is named after the late Mike Coley, who played ball with many of the players who will play this year in the tournament.

You must be logged in to react.
Click any reaction to login.